Email me at thekeytothegate@gmail.com

Monday, April 8, 2013

What I'm Reading: April 8, 2013

"It's Monday! What Are You Reading?" is a meme hosted by Sheila from Book Journey where readers share what they are currently reading, recently read, or plan to read next.

Currently Reading: The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver. I have previously read Kingsolver's The Poisonwood Bible and Prodigal Summer and am enjoying this one so far as well.
 
 
Recently Finished: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. This is a wonderful classic for all ages. You can read my review here!


Up Next: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson and Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery

About Gilead (from amazon.com): Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Happy Reading!
Rebecca

7 comments:

  1. I loved Anne of Green Gables too - although it's been a long time since I read it. Hope you enjoy your books this week too.

    Tanya Patrice
    Girlxoxo.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved the Green Gables books...I want to reread them! I also enjoy Marilynne Robinson's books.

    Have a great week. Here's MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would really like to re-read Anne. I should have put that on my Classics Club list :) Hmm..maybe I'll make my daughter read it for homeschool so I can read it with her, lol.

    Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Those were my three first Barbara Kingsolver books, too. I also really loved "The Lacuna", probably one of my favourites ever.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I liked The Bean Trees too, but I haven't read Prodigal Summer yet. Enjoy reading through Anne's story again! It's been a long time since I've read those books.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'd love to re-read the Anne books, if only there were more hours in the day lol. Have a great week and happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am reading Knots and Crosses.

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin