Email me at thekeytothegate@gmail.com

Monday, April 22, 2013

What I'm Reading- April 22, 2013

"It's Monday! What Are You Reading?" is a meme hosted by Sheila from Book Journey where readers share what they are currently reading, recently read, or plan to read next.

Currently Reading: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
About Gilead (from amazon.com): Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life. Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Recently Finished: The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver
Another great Kingsolver book! This was her first published novel. You can read my review here.

Up Next: Nashville Chrome by Rick Bass

I have been wanting to read this novel for several years after hearing the author, Rick Bass, promoting the book on NPR. For some reason that interview stuck with me and I am excited to finally be getting around to this read.

About Nashville Chrome (from amazon.com): In 1959, the Brown siblings were the biggest thing in country music. Their inimitable harmony would give rise to the polished sound of the multibillion dollar country-music industry we know today. But when the bonds of family began to fray, the flame of their celebrity proved as brilliant as it was fleeting. Masterfully jumping between the Browns' once-auspicious past and the heartbreaking present, Nashville Chrome is the richly imagined story of a forgotten family and an unflinching portrait of an era in American music. In his "breath-catching, mythic and profoundly American tale of creation, destruction and renewal" (Kansas City Star), Rick Bass mines quiet truths and draws poignant portraits of lives lived both in and out of the limelight.

Happy Reading!
Rebecca

9 comments:

  1. Gosh, what a wonderful selection!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nashville Chrome sounds like such a great read, I hope you enjoy it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read another of Robinson's books, one that comes after Gilead, called "Home."

    Enjoy your week!

    Here's MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    ReplyDelete
  4. I popped over to read your review of Bean Trees; now I definitely want to read it! I have read The Poisonwood Bible and Prodigal Summer only of Kingsolver's books, and I loved them. Also, I loved your book club ideas at the end!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I still haven't read a single book by Kingsolver, but I have I think four of them on my shelves so at some point I will rectify this!

    Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm waiting to hear what you think of Gilead :) I'm a curious girl.

    Have a fantastic week of reading!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm only about 30 pages in so far. I'm hoping to finish it this week. The entire novel is written as one long letter without chapter breaks which seems to slow me down. Thanks for visiting!
      Rebecca

      Delete
  7. Gilead had me intrigued but I'm not so sure now about the "one long letter" style. Anyway ... have a great week and happy reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Just finished reading Knots and Crosses and started Haunted Ground.

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin